Highlights from the 2022 Baja Surf Classic

The 28th year of the Baja Surf Classic was held at Little Island City Park on Sunday, September 25, 2022. The conditions were sunny, warm, with decent waves all day, and the Sandbridge families made a great beach day out of it. Thanks to everyone that cooked and donated food all day on the beach, as well as, all the volunteers that made the event go so smooth. The awards ceremony/post party took place on the Bayview lawn with great BBQ cooked by Keith Eakes and Boardwok specialties of Kalbi ribs, noodles, and fried rice. This year we had 88 contestants in 8 Divisions. Once again, the contest was free for participants, and we raised money for our expenses and our charities by individual and local business donations. This year we will be donating the proceeds to CHKD and the Surfrider Foundation.

We want to thank all our local families and businesses, who so graciously donated to those in need. We were able to raise $7,550.00 and after paying our expenses, we have $3,000 for our charities. The Baja will again match this donation, so CHKD and the Surfrider Foundation will each receive $3,000.

Jimmy Reeve & James Barton
Baja Surf Classic

The results of the contest were:

Super Groms (8 & under)
• Cameron McNulty
• Porter McNulty
• Turner Dieter
• Waylon Welch
• Finn Welch
• Braelynn Thomas
• Alice Debolt
• Ruby Malbon
• Audrey Gowey
• Cooper Shipman

Menehunes (11 & under)
1. Tripp Boyce
2. Carson Maloney
3. Emma Winsett
4. Brynn Johnson
5. Asher Debolt

1. Lexi Blanchette
2. Lilly Barreto
3. Rheya Swann
4. Campbell Vaughan
5. Sienna Swann
6. Sloan Reed

1. Troy Shiner
2. Nick Naylor, Jr.
3. Luke Winsett
4. Hayden Glover
5. Carly Fodness
6. Katelyn Kelly

Junior Shortboard
1. Liam Maloney
2. Reed Kindley
3. Ethan Psimas
4. Wylan Posey
5. Grady Frederick
6. Bane Barton

Junior Longboard
1. Liam Maloney
2. Carson Maloney
3. Grady Frederick
4. Sunny Barton
5. Campbell Vaughan
6. Ethan Psimas

Senior Longboard
1. Mike Maloney
2. Ethan Rodgers
3. Kris Bottech
4. Trey Highton
5. Nick Naylor
6. Mychal McNeil

Men’s Shortboard
1. Brad Harrell
2. Ethan Rogers
3. Roger Houck
4. Kris Bottech
5. Ryan Kindley
6. Ted Eberhart